American Frontiers PLIADOIBLMUSDA FSGeography Action from NGSHondaColemanCoca-Cola
Search
About
Dispatches
The Trek


The Trek

The Teams
Read bios about the team members and see photos.

Team Member Journals
Read online journals filled out by members of both Trek teams. Search by date, place and more.

Interactive and Downloadable Maps

Related Events

Trek Itinerary

Media Center



Exhibits
Lessons
Geo Action

PLIC Museum
Home

 The Trek: The Journals

•
Team: North
Dana Bell
Monday, September 9
SEPTEMBER 9, 2002

KOA Campground, Wilson, WY and Grand Teton National Park

Of course a little bit of a bustle getting up, having breakfast and getting on the road for fire and water quality presentations at Grand Teton National Park. Dave Smaldone (Grand Teton NP), Lori Iverson (Grand Teton NP), Pat Durland (Fire Management Specialist for the BLM), and Mack McFarland (Grand Teton NP) gave great presentations on fire management for long fire return interval forests at the Murie Center where the group had the opportunity to see crews working on tree spacing, limbing up (removal of low, dead tree branches), and ground fuel reduction.

Following a picnic lunch we met Aida Farag, Research Fishery Biologist, USGS who has been working with the Grand Teton National Park to, “establish baseline conditions of park backcountry surface waters to be used as a tool for measuring future changes, and evaluate the effects that backcountry users may be having on the water quality of selected backcountry streams.” (Backcountry Water Quality in Grand Teton, Park Science. By lake boat we traveled across Jenny Lake and walked up the first half mile of Cascade Canyon to take water samples and to view Cascade Creek.

We have now been on the road for 42 days traveling by ATV, horse and foot. We’ve done some pretty challenging cross-country bushwhacking by horseback and foot. Throughout all this no one has been sick or sustained serious injury. Soooo, what does dumb dana do but while performing a sample water testing I slip on a rock and rather than catch my balance with my hand, just let myself slip (as I’m wearing sterile gloves for the water sampling and don’t want to contaminate the gloves - yeah, like that’s really important since this is just to see how it’s done.) The end result is a very sore, bruised and swollen foot. Rats, just what I need the day before a three-day backpack.

But aside from my stupidity and clumsiness it is a most excellent day. The
Grand Tetons are moment-to-moment cloaked or exposed in morning mist followed by a parade of great puffy white clouds in a clear blue-blue sky throughout the day. The high peaks have patches of snow from the weekend storm. And Jenny Lake is a blue plate with an almost landscaped shoreline of gravel, wonderful boulders and pines. The Cascade Creek trail and viewpoints, despite tens of thousands of trail visitors annually during their 3-month season, is well designed to sustain the traffic and still remain picturesque. The hard-packed dirt trail is lined and twists between boulders as it climbs parallel to Cascade Creek. Viewpoints offer boulder, log or carved log resting spots. The creek itself is glistening roar of water through walls of rock and over a boulder bed. We saw visitors obviously from other countries, families with young children, young adults equipped for rock climbing in the designated training areas, elderly seniors slowly but persistently making their way up the trail, visitors in hiking gear, others in standard vacation garb and some women even in low heels - an interesting cross-section of visitors thoroughly enjoying a magnificent day.

Back at camp Michelle, our medic, and Trish, Dave Mensing’s wife, administered to my foot but my ability to continue in the morning was a major question. In the evening we were treated to a fantastic Mexican dinner at Vista Grande by Paul Slavik. It should have been a perfect closing for a relaxing interesting day but a wakeful night dragged on forever worrying over my stupid foot. From the Journey, dana
for Monday, September 9
North South Both




Biographical
•
Team: North
Dana Bell
Dana and Mike by a beaver dam.
Dana Bell is the Project Coordinator for the National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation...
   >> more...



List of All Journal Entries
•
Monday, September 23
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 22
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 21
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 19
Dana Bell
Seedskadee NWR
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 18
Dana Bell
KEMMERER TO SEEDSKADEE NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 16
Dana Bell
SCALER CABIN TO WEEPING ROCK
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 15
Dana Bell
JACKSON TO SCALER CABIN
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 14
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Friday, September 13
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 12
Dana Bell
LITTLE GREYS RIVER TO BLIND BULL MINE TRAILHEAD
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 11
Dana Bell
CLIFF CREEK TO LITTLE GREYS RIVER
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 10
Dana Bell
KOA CAMPGROUND, WILSON, WY
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 9
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 8
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Saturday, September 7
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Thursday, September 5
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, September 4
Dana Bell
SUMMIT LAKE TO MADISON CAMPGROUND
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, September 3
Dana Bell
BUFFALO CAMP TO SUMMIT LAKE
   >> more...

•
Monday, September 2
Dana Bell
BLAIR LAKE TO BUFFALO CAMP
   >> more...

•
Sunday, September 1
Dana Bell
SPRING CREEK TO BLAIR LAKE
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 31
Dana Bell
EAST CAMAS TO SPRING CREEK
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 30
Dana Bell
DAY 31 - TABLE MOUNTAIN & MISTY OF KILKORE
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Dana Bell
Shineberger to Old Beaver Campground, Dubois Ranger District, Targhee National Forest, Idaho
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 29
Dana Bell
LITTLE SHEEP CREEK TO SHINEBERGER
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 27
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 26
Dana Bell
Camp Life and Lewis and Clark
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 25
Dana Bell
My Tent
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 24
Dana Bell
WILDLIFE DAY
   >> more...

•
Thursday, August 22
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, August 21
Dana Bell
Day 22: Bushwhacking by Foot & Horse
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 20
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 19
Dana Bell
COLD CREEK WATER & MICKEY
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 17
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 16
Dana Bell
FAMILY & HAPPY BIRTHDAY JON
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Dana Bell
SCAPEGOAT MOUNTAIN
   >> more...

•
Monday, August 12
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Sunday, August 11
Dana Bell
SENTINEL MOUNTAIN
   >> more...

•
Saturday, August 10
Dana Bell
Sentinel Mountain
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, August 6
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Friday, August 2
Dana Bell
   >> more...

•
Wednesday, July 31
Dana Bell
Get ready, get set, go!
   >> more...

•
Tuesday, July 23
Dana Bell
First Journal Entry
   >> more...








TOP





All material copyright ©2002 - 2017, Public Lands Interpretive Association except photographs where ownership is otherwise indicated. All rights reserved.